Idilic Trio
Saxophonist Miguel Fernández's first approach to music was through a classical environment, obtaining a Classical Saxophone Degree in Pamplona, Spain. Shortly after he moved to Boston to attend Berklee College of Music, where he
studied a "Jazz Performance" major with Magna Cum Laude qualification. There, his most influent teachers were: Joe Lovano, Hal Crook, Jerry Bergonzi, George Garzone, Ed Tomassi, Bill Pierce, Frank Tiberi, Greg Hopkins and Dave Samuels to name a few. He got the “Woodwind Department Achievement Award”, being recognized as one of the university's best woodwind players between 2002 and '03.

Since 2004 Miguel is professionally performing in Barcelona's music scene. He leads his own quartet formed with Dani Pérez on guitar, Marko Lohikari on bass and David Xirgu on drums. His list of experience is long, but some include:

* “Paquito de Rivera Panamerican Big Band” (2001). Concert and recording edited by Berklee Press.

* “Joe Lovano's Twenty first Century Ensemble”, performing at Uchida Center, Boston 2002.

* Soundtrack Recording of the Ramón Salazar's film titled “20 centímetros” (Cannes 2005). Music composed and arranged by Pascal Gargne.

* International Jazz Festival of Terrassa with Albert Marqués Quartet. 2006

* International Jazz Festival of Granollers “ Two Tenors: Miguel Fernández meets Miguel Villar”. 2007

* Santi Careta “Ressons” tour. 2008

* “Miguel Fernández Quartet Asian Tour” with Ted Lo on piano. 2009

* Miguel Fernández Quintet featuring Leo Genovese. Concerts and recording session for Fresh Sound New Talent. 2009

Nowadays he is playing with MUT Trio, Idilic Trio, Mystic Flugelhorn Band, Nicolás Sánchez Quartet, Santi Careta Group, Miguel Fernández Quartet/Quintet and has played with international artists such as:
Joe Lovano, Greg Hopkins, James Genus, Eli Degibri, André Matos Quintet, Joe Smith Quartet, Juan Cruz Urquiza, André Fernandes, Leo Genovese, Ted Lo, Demián Cabaud Trío /Quartet, Jesse Chandler, Rai Ferrer, Joan Monnè...

Miguel is a Fresh Sound Records. His most recent albums released through the popular Barcelona jazz label:

"El Perro", "Obertura" and "Santi Careta Grup meets Julian Heinemann".

His new album titled “Transplanet Species” featuring Leo Genovese was released at the beginning of 2010 (, and received amazing reviews from international specialized press.

Also on PSM Records: "Symploke Quintet" or “Music for saxophones (Iñaki Askunze)”.
Includes biography, discography, photos, etc.:Click here to download
Follow the artist
Title: Taurus
Format: Album
Year of release: 2010
Download hoto
Download hoto
Download hoto
Miguel Fernández Quntet